Dinthill finishes second | daCosta Cup won by Clarendon College

Dinthill finishes second | daCosta Cup won by Clarendon College

November 30, 2019 0 By Horace Mills

The daCosta Cup Football Competition ended this evening in Montego Bay, St James, with Clarendon College being crowned champion for the second straight year.

The team from Chapelton in Clarendon secured a 3-0 win over Dinthill Technical High from Linstead in St Catherine.

Both teams finished the first half without scoring. Earl Simpson scored in the 55th minute, substitute Andre Nicholson extended the lead in the 81st, and Tajay Williams netted the ball in extra time.

This is the ninth time that Clarendon College is winning the rural schoolboy championship. It also did so in 1977, 1978, 1991, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2014, and 2018.

Dinthill, on the other hand, won in 1979 and 1981.

Dinthill, at one point, was not expected to advance out of the first round of the competition after a number of early losses. However, it had a twist of fate when it was given a whopping six points because one of its opponents – Charlemont High – committed a breach in the two matches it played against Dinthill. Charlemont had used an ineligible player, causing Dinthill to file an appeal, which was upheld by ISSA.

WE also do obituaries, advertisement, and special coverage of funerals, birthday parties, weddings, and other milestones. Call or WhatsApp us at 876-305-4574 or emaail us at jamaicabeaconnews@gmail.com.