EWARTON: Vintage win community football league

Vintage are winners of this season’s Ewarton Corner League in St Catherine after edging Alkaidas in an evenly contested match at Polly Ground playing field on Sunday, February 17.

Alkaidas scored the first goal in the 43rd minute of play, thanks to Clive Wedderburn. Vintage, however, responded with a goal by Alecymore Anglin in the 50th minute.

Vintage, on the ascendancy, scored again in the 68th minute – this time courtesy Fitzroy Robinson. Its defenders later fell asleep and gave Renardo Brown from Alkaidas an opportunity to score the equalizer, which sent the game into extra time.

Extra time ended with both teams locked at 2-2.

The game eventually went into the dreaded penalty shootout, which Vintage won 5-4.

Coach of Vintage, Fitzroy Russell, told The Beacon that he is elated with the victory.

“I am very elated as my team was the final one to qualify for the semis; we barely made it to the semi-finals. It was a rough journey, however, I knew my team had the pedigree to get the job done. We got pass the favorites in the semi-finals, and from then I knew we would’ve won the finals. The guys played exceptionally well defensively, and I knew that we would’ve gotten the better of our opponents.”

The third place play-off, in the meantime, ended 5-1 in favour of Polly Ground Football Club, with Dewayne Lewin scoring a hat-trick. BOP (Boys of Polly Ground) lost the match.

Meanwhile, during the awards ceremony, Joseph Harris from Vintage was declared the best goalkeeper, Dewayne Lewin from Polly Ground announced as the leading goal scorer with six goals, and Ardenne Walden from Vintage is the most valuable player.

Organizers of the competition also made a special presentation to Bunny Lewin who has supported the community tremendously in various areas – including sports.

WE also do obituaries, advertisement, and special coverage of funerals, birthday parties, weddings, and other milestones. Call or WhatsApp us at 876-305-4574 or emaail us at jamaicabeaconnews@gmail.com.